Candidates

Cap and Gown Information

Proper academic regalia is required for all candidates who participate in any NSU Commencement Ceremony. NSU's approved regalia is blue in color for all baccalaureate candidates and gray for master's, specialists and doctoral candidates. All candidates are responsible for ordering their own caps and gowns directly from the NSU Bookstore vendor Oak Hall Cap & Gown. Only regalia purchased through the bookstore are acceptable wear at NSU Commencement ceremonies.

The purchase price of regalia varies according to the degree attained. Undergraduate regalia cost $51.00. Master's/Specialist regalia cost $90.00. The regalia are yours to keep.

Doctoral candidates may either rent ($164.00) or purchase ($992.00) their deluxe regalia. Rented regalia must be returned to the Bookstore within seven days after commencement. Failure to do so will result in a charge of the full purchase price to the credit card on file. HPD candidates who are automatically charged for regalia in their last didactic course and Law candidates who do not pay a cap and gown fee, are still required to order regalia through the NSU Bookstore online portal.

The deluxe regalia cap includes a fitted tam. For correct tam sizing techniques, click here

PLEASE NOTE: Rented deluxe regalia will not be available for shipping due to the process that requires a candidate’s signature at checkout. Rental regalia will be available for pick up at the Shark Store in the Don Taft University Center (UC) on the main campus in Davie, Florida. Call the NSU Bookstore at (954) 262-4799 with any regalia questions or for hours of operation.

Click here for a complete regalia breakdown by school/program with tassel and hood colors.

Regalia ordered after the ceremony RSVP deadlines listed below can only be picked up at the Shark Store in the UC on the main campus in Davie, Florida.

Ceremony Online Ordering Deadlines
Ceremony Date(s): Online Regalia Order Deadline:
Thursday and Friday, May 12-13, 2016 Friday, April 15, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016 Friday, April 22, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016 Friday, May 13, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016 Friday, May 20, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016 Friday, July 22, 2016
Regalia Pick-up Availability
Online Orders: Order by: Pick-up Begins:
Friday, March 25, 2016 Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016 Monday, April 25, 2016
Last Date for Law/Undergraduate Friday, April 15, 2016 Monday, May 9, 2016
Last Date for May HPD Friday, April 22, 2016 Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016 Monday, May 23, 2016
Last Date for June 10 Graduate Ceremony Friday, May 13, 2016 Monday, June 6, 2016
Last Date for June 17 Graduate Ceremony Friday, May 20, 2016 Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016 Monday, August 8, 2016
Last Date for August HPD Friday, July 22, 2016 Monday, August 15, 2016

Candidates who purchase regalia and wish to have it shipped domestically must place their order no later than the final deadline of that particular commencement ceremony. Individuals requesting international shipping must allow a minimum 6-8 weeks for delivery. Shipping starts at $15.99 for regular ground and $28.00 for expedited delivery (contact the NSU Bookstore for more details).

For questions regarding the ordering of regalia, call the NSU Bookstore at (954) 262-4799 or email regalia@nova.edu.