Top of PageSkip to main content

Candidates

Cap and Gown Information

Proper academic regalia is required for all candidates who participate in any NSU Commencement Ceremony. NSU's approved regalia is blue in color for all baccalaureate candidates and gray for master's, specialists and doctoral candidates. All candidates are responsible for ordering their own caps and gowns directly from the NSU Bookstore vendor Oak Hall Cap & Gown via an online portal accessible through the official commencement invitation. Only regalia purchased through the bookstore or Shark Store are acceptable wear at NSU Commencement ceremonies.

The purchase price of regalia varies according to the degree attained. Undergraduate regalia cost $54.00. Master's/Specialist regalia cost $93.00. The regalia are yours to keep.

Doctoral candidates may either rent ($173.00) or purchase ($959.00) their deluxe regalia. Rented regalia must be returned to the bookstore or Shark Store within seven days after commencement. Failure to do so will result in a charge of the full purchase price to the credit card on file. HPD candidates who are automatically charged for regalia in their last didactic course and Law candidates who do not pay a cap and gown fee, are still required to order regalia through the NSU Bookstore online portal.

The deluxe regalia cap includes a fitted tam. For correct tam sizing techniques, click here

PLEASE NOTE: Rented deluxe regalia will not be available for shipping due to the process that requires a candidate’s signature at checkout. Rental regalia can be picked up at the Shark Store in the Don Taft University Center up until the day before your ceremony. On the day of commencement, regalia will be available at the Shark Store on the main concourse of the UC. Call the NSU Bookstore at (954) 262-4799 with any regalia questions or for hours of operation.

Click here for a complete regalia breakdown by school/program with tassel and hood colors.

Regalia ordered after the ceremony RSVP deadlines listed below can only be picked up at the Shark Store in the Don Taft University Center in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Ceremony Online Ordering Deadlines
Ceremony Date(s): Online Regalia Order Deadline:
Thursday and Friday, May 11-12, 2017 Friday, April 14, 2017
Friday, May 19, 2017 Friday, April 14, 2017
Friday, June 9, 2017 Friday, May 12, 2017
Friday, June 16, 2017 Friday, May 12, 2017
August 18, 2017 Friday, July 21, 2017
Regalia Pick-up Availability AT THE SHARK STORE
Order by: Pick-up Begins:
Friday, March 17, 2017 Monday, April 10, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017 Monday, April 24, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017 Monday, May 8, 2017
Friday, April 28, 2017 Monday, May 22, 2017
Friday, May 12, 2017 Monday, June 5, 2017
Friday, July 7, 2017 Monday, July 31, 2017
Friday, July 21, 2017 Monday, August 14, 2017

Candidates who purchase regalia and wish to have it shipped domestically must place their order no later than the final deadline of that particular commencement ceremony. Individuals requesting international shipping must allow a minimum 6-8 weeks for delivery. Shipping starts at $15.99 for regular ground and $28.00 for expedited delivery (contact the NSU Shark Store for more details).

For questions regarding the ordering of regalia, call the NSU Shark Store at (954) 262-4799 or email regalia@nova.edu.

Return to top of page