Top of Page
Skip main navigation

About Hispanic Heritage Month

September 15 - October 15

NSU Hispanic HeritageNational Hispanic American Heritage Month, also known as Hispanic Heritage Month, Latino Heritage Month, or Hispanic Latinx Heritage Month, is celebrated yearly, from September 15 to October 15.

In September 1968, Congress authorized President Lyndon B. Johnson to proclaim National Hispanic Heritage Week, which was observed during the week that included September 15 and September 16.
In 1988, Congress expanded the observance to a month-long celebration (September 15 - October 15), and the change became effective in 1989.

September 15 was chosen as the starting point for the celebration because it is the anniversary of the independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence days on September 16 and September 18, respectively.

At Nova Southeastern University, Hispanic Heritage Month is an opportunity to honor the achievements and cultures of American citizens whose ancestors hailed from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Central and South America.

(Source: PR Newswire) 

Return to top of page