2024 NSU Fact Book

60 NOVA SOUTHEASTERN UNIVERSITY Councils and Committees involving human subjects, as set forth in The Belmont Report: Ethical Principles and Guidelines for the Protection of Human Subjects of Research and in keeping with applicable laws and regulations. The board includes at least one representative from each college and center that conducts human subjects research, with additional members from the local community, and a prisoner advocate. NEW PROGRAM REVIEW COMMITTEE Chair: Sarah Valley-Gray, professor and chair of the Department of Clinical and School Psychology. Nova Southeastern University encourages the growth of new and innovative academic programs that advance its mission, vision, and strategic priorities. The New Program Review Committee (whose members provide support and counsel for academic units seeking approval of proposals) facilitates the development of new programs. The review process contributes to the quality of the proposed programs and increases the probability of success. It is the only pathway permitted by the president and the board of trustees for approval of new academic programs. The members of the New Program Review Committee are representatives from all the academic units. PRESIDENT’S COUNCIL Chair: George L. Hanbury II, president and chief executive officer. The President’s Council convenes on a bimonthly basis and is composed of deans from every college, school, and center and vice presidents from throughout the university. The council meets to share university business, as well as to communicate and discuss ways to fulfill the mission, vision, core values, and strategic priorities of Nova Southeastern University. QUALITY ENHANCEMENT PLAN (QEP) COMMITTEE Chair: Kevin Dvorak, professor and executive director, NSU Write from the Start Writing and Communication Center. QEP Committee members include one QEP director and one QEP alternate from each of NSU’s 18 academic units, appointed by the respective deans, as well as two librarians and two students. The QEP is a Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) requirement. NSU’s committee meets regularly to dialogue about QEP issues, including, but not limited to, strategies and assessment practices. SAFETY COMMITTEE Chair: Elizabeth Guimaraes, director of risk management. Administered through the Office of the Vice President for Facilities Management, the Safety Committee assists the university in providing a safe and secure environment for students, faculty members, and staff members. The committee accomplishes this mission by making recommendations to the university through the Department of Public Safety for improving safety and security. The Safety Committee members represent all administrative and academic units of the university and meet six to nine times each year. SURVEY RESEARCH COMMITTEE Chair: Don Rudawsky, vice president for the Office of Institutional Effectiveness. The survey research committee meets once monthly to review all administrative and research surveys that involve a broad sampling or census of a population of Nova Southeastern University and to provide recommendations for approval or denial to the provost regarding the proposed survey. The committee is composed of the vice president of institutional effectiveness, one dean, one institu- tional researcher, one statistician from an academic unit, three faculty members representing diverse academic units, and one IRB representative.