2023 NSU Fact Book

56 NOVA SOUTHEASTERN UNIVERSITY ADMINISTRATIVE STUDENT SERVICES COUNCIL Co-chairs: Eva Goldstein, associate director of internal communications—Enrollment Management and Student Affairs, and Kimberly Rivera, senior manager, Registrar Operations. The purpose of the Administrative Student Services Council (ASSC) is to propose and implement university-wide enrollment management processes and procedures. The ASSC meets monthly to promote communication about and adherence to policies and procedures. ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE Interim Chair: Ramina Benjamin, director of assessment and accreditation, Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs. The purpose of the committee is to review the reports produced from the academic program review process and identify strategies for achieving the university’s goal of academic excellence or eminence in each program, department, or college. Membership is selected from among the university faculty. BELONGING, EQUITY, DIVERSITY, AND INCLUSION (BEDI) ADVISORY COUNCIL Co-chairs: Jessica Valenzuela, associate professor, College of Psychology and Robert Pietrykowski, vice president, Office of Human Resources. The BEDI Advisory Council guides Nova Southeastern University toward inclusive excellence by cultivating and supporting the ongoing development and implementation of processes, procedures, and inclusion, and belonging throughout all aspects of the university. BUDGET COMMITTEE The committee is composed of Harry K. Moon, executive vice president and chief operating officer; Ronald Chenail, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs; Alyson Silva, vice president for finance and chief financial officer; and Amanda Miller, university budget director. The purpose of the Budget Committee is to review and recommend to the president the annual operating budget, including the establishment of tuition and fee rates, as proposed by the deans of the colleges. CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM COMMITTEE The committee is composed of Harry K. Moon, executive vice president and chief operating officer; Daniel J. Alfonso, vice president for facilities management; Humberto Franquiz, director of finance for facilities management; Alyson Silva, vice president for finance and chief financial officer; Randall Seneff, executive director of facilities management; Jennifer Krugler, director of financial planning and analysis; and Mark Nyland, university treasurer. This committee was established to coordinate and combine all capital projects anticipated over a planning horizon of the next five years. The Capital Improvement Program (CIP) is updated at least annually, and the first year of the plan serves as the current-year capital budget. The plan is submitted to the president for review and approval. COMMUNITY COLLABORATION COMMITTEE Chair: Don Rudawsky, vice president for the Office of Institutional Effectiveness. The membership of this committee is composed of one liaison designated by the specific unit dean or vice president from each of the academic and administrative units. The Community Collaboration Committee convenes on a biannual basis to discuss and make recommendations about NSU’s community outreach activities. The liasons are respon- sible for collecting and populating the Community Collaboration Database with information about each of the projects and collaborations performed by their respective unit’s faculty and staff members and students on behalf of NSU. The database is a centralized repository designed in-house to collect communitybased information and to inform quality practices, in support of NSU’s mission, vision, and values. DEANS’ COUNCIL Chair: Ronald J. Chenail, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs. The purpose of the Deans’ Council is to review academic matters and take an active role in the fulfillment of the academic aspects of the University Strategic Plan. This council advises the provost in policies and matters that support the deans’ leadership role in carrying out the mission, vision, and strategic priorities of the university. Councils and Committees INTERNAL INITIATIVES u