2023 NSU Fact Book

36 NOVA SOUTHEASTERN UNIVERSITY Historical Highlights 1961 • The South Florida Education Center (SFEC) was organized to create an educational complex of institutions ranging from pre-elementary to postdoctoral education to invent, implement, evaluate, and disseminate innovative practices in all areas. 1964 • Nova University opened offices on Las Olas Boulevard in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Warren J. Winstead, Ph.D., was named president. • Nova University was chartered by the state of Florida as Nova University of Advanced Technology. 1965 • The Physical Sciences Center and the Physical Oceanographic Laboratory were established. • Nova University received several gifts that enabled the construction of the Louis Parker Physical Sciences Building and the Rosenthal Student Center, and established an endowed chair in physics. 1967 • The Edwin M. and Esther L. Rosenthal Student Center was dedicated at the Fort Lauderdale/Davie Campus. • Classes at Nova University formally began; the student body consisted of 17 Ph.D. students in behavioral science, physics and physical chemistry, and oceanography. There were 17 faculty members and 38 staff members. 1968 • The Louis Parker Physical Sciences Center, the Davie Living Complex, and the Fort Lauderdale/Davie Campus were officially opened. • Ten acres of land were deeded to Nova University by the Broward County Commission at Port Everglades for relocation of the Physical Oceanographic Laboratory. 1969 • The Life Sciences Center was established to offer doctoral and master’s degrees in the bio- logical sciences. The Leo Goodwin Institute for Cancer Research was relocated from Tampa to Nova University. • NSU University School opened on the Fort Lauderdale/Davie Campus, extending Nova University’s educational programs down to the elementary and secondary levels. • Abraham S. Fischler, Ed.D., was appointed executive vice president of Nova University by President Warren Winstead. 1970 • The first five Nova University graduates received their Ph.D. degrees. • A federation with New York Institute of Technology (NYIT) was established. Alexander Schure, then president of NYIT, was named chancellor of Nova University. • Abraham S. Fischler, Ed.D., was named president of Nova University. 1971 • Nova University received full accreditation for five years from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). 1972 • Nova University initiated its external degree programs with its National Ed.D. Programs in Educational Leadership and Higher Education. • NYIT initiated a master’s degree program in business administration at Nova University. • The Ph.D. Program in behavioral sciences graduated its first class. • The Ed.D. Program in Early Childhood Education began.