2023 NSU Fact Book

2023 FACT BOOK 43 competitions for the NSU University School swim team and provide practice facilities. The center will also be hosting NCAA team practices and competitions. 2009 • The University Center was renamed in honor of businessman, entrepreneur, and philanthropist Don Taft, in recognition of the university’s largest single gift to date, received from The Taft Foundation. • A 19-foot, bronze mako shark sculpture on top of a 10-foot-high water fountain was placed at the entrance to the newly christened Don Taft University Center. This sculpture of the university’s mascot was commissioned by NSU students and created by renowned wildlife sculptor Kent Ullberg. • NSU was one of 22 Hispanic-serving institutions nationally, and one of 3 in Florida, to receive the first Title V grants ever awarded by the U.S. Department of Education that are focused specifically on graduate programs. The $2.7-million grant will support the development of programs in the Fischler School of Education and Human Services that enhance graduate student engagement, retention, and success. 2010 • Ray Ferrero, Jr., who was then president, became university chancellor and CEO, and George Hanbury, who was then executive vice president and COO, became university president and COO. • The Division of Applied Interdisciplinary Studies was created. This new division encompasses the Center for Psychological Studies, the Graduate School of Humanities and Social Sciences, the Mailman Segal Institute for Early Childhood Studies, and the Criminal Justice Institute. • A new, state-of-the-art research facility was approved to be built on the Oceanographic Center campus at John U. Lloyd Beach State Park in Dania Beach, Florida. Partially funded by a $15-million grant from the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the facility will be the only one in the country dedicated to the study, research, and preservation of coral reefs. The new Center of Excellence for Coral Reef Ecosystems Science was opened in September 2012. • The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching awarded Nova Southeastern University the Community Engagement Classification, which acknowledges significant commitment to and demonstration of community engagement. NSU was 1 of 15 colleges and universities in the U.S. selected for the award in 2010, and 1 of only 311 colleges and universities nationally to receive the award since inception of the classification. • NSU University School opened its new “Campus within a Campus,” which included a new building for the Lower School, a Center for the Arts, an aquatics center, and athletic fields. 2011 • George L. Hanbury II, Ph.D., took office as the sixth president and CEO of Nova Southeastern University. He began the creative process for implementing NSU’s Vision 2020. • NSU was elevated from Doctoral Research University to Research University—High Research Activity, reflecting two of NSU’s core values: scholarship and research. At the time, NSU was 1 of only 37 universities in the nation with both the Carnegie classification of high research activity and community engagement. • The Susie and Alan B. Levan NSU Ambassadors Board, a premier C-Suite organization of approximately 200 members, was created to increase NSU awareness and support in the South Florida community. • The Adolfo and Marisela Cotilla Gallery, on the second floor of the Alvin Sherman Library, is named. 2012 • The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) granted accreditation without qualifications to all degree programs in NSU’s Abraham S. Fischler School of Education and to education- related programs within the university’s Center for Psychological Studies. This means the university’s education programs have been vetted at the highest levels for quality and the ability to produce effective,