2024 NSU Fact Book

2024 FACT BOOK 41 1994 • Southeastern University of the Health Sciences merged with Nova University to form Nova Southeastern University (NSU). • Ovid C. Lewis was selected as the fourth president of NSU. • The William and Norma Horvitz Administration Building was dedicated. 1995 • Based on its fall 1995 enrollment, NSU became the largest independent university in the state of Florida. • The College of Allied Health started a Master of Public Health Program for students working in other health professions. • NSU acquired 10 acres of land contiguous with the southwest corner of the Fort Lauderdale/Davie Campus for future expansion. Initially, the site would be used for a nature trail in a park-like setting. 1996 • The Maxwell Maltz building, housing the Center for Psychological Studies and its Community Mental Health Center, was dedicated. • Planning began to move the Fischler Center for the Advancement of Education to university facilities in North Miami Beach. • The board of trustees approved the addition of the College of Dental Medicine to the Health Professions Division (HPD). • The NSU University School was selected as a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence by the United States Department of Education. • The Oceanographic Center began a cooperative project with the town of Davie to convert a water treatment facility into an aquaculture research farm. • The Shepard Broad Law Center began a part-time evening division J.D. program. 1997 • The HPD moved from facilities in North Miami Beach to new facilities on the Fort Lauderdale/Davie Campus. The new complex encompasses 365,000 square feet of classroom, laboratory, clinic, and office space along with a 470,000-square-foot parking structure. • The College of Osteopathic Medicine won the 1997 American Medical Student Association’s Paul R. Wright Excellence in Medical Education Award, the first osteopathic medical school in the U.S. to be selected. • The College of Dental Medicine admitted its charter class. • The Fischler Center for the Advancement of Education moved from leased facilities in Davie to newly renovated, university-owned facilities in North Miami Beach. • Facilities opened in University Park Plaza adjacent to the Fort Lauderdale/Davie Campus. The facility houses classrooms; a microcomputer laboratory; the Institute for Learning in Retirement; and the Offices of Licensure and State Relations, Grants and Contracts, and Continuing Education. 1998 • The board of trustees named Ray Ferrero, Jr., J.D., as the university’s fifth president. • George L. Hanbury II, Ph.D., was appointed executive vice president and chief operating officer by Ray Ferrero, Jr., NSU president. • NSU’s regional accreditation was reaffirmed by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Schools for another 10 years. • The Fischler Center for the Advancement of Education changed its name to the Fischler Graduate School of Education and Human Services. • The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II Management Council elected NSU to provisional membership effective September 1, 1998. • The board of trustees approved construction of the 325,000-square-foot Library, Research, and Infor- mation Technology Center on the Fort Lauderdale/ Davie Campus. 1999 • Nova Southeastern University celebrated its 35th anniversary.