2023 NSU Fact Book

2023 FACT BOOK 39 1991 • Facilities for the Bernice and Jack LaBonte Institute and the Ralph J. Baudhuin Oral School were dedicated. • The Institute for Systemic Therapy became the School of Social and Systemic Studies when degree programs in dispute resolution were added to existing programs in family therapy. 1992 • Stephen Feldman was selected as the third president of Nova University. • The Leo Goodwin Sr. Hall, new home of the Shepard Broad Law Center, opened on the Fort Lauderdale/ Davie Campus. • The Leo Goodwin Sr. Residence Hall, the university’s fifth student dormitory, was dedicated. • Nova University’s first building, the Rosenthal Student Center, was expanded to include a dining hall, full kitchen, bookstore, and administrative offices. 1993 • Southeastern University of the Health Sciences added the College of Allied Health and admitted its charter class in the Physician Assistant Program. • The Dolphins Training Center, a new training facility for the Miami Dolphins, was completed on the Fort Lauderdale/Davie Campus. • A new wing housing the Bernice and Jack LaBonte Institute for Hearing, Language, and Speech was added to the Baudhuin Oral School. 1994 • Southeastern University of the Health Sciences merged with Nova University to form Nova Southeastern University (NSU). • Ovid C. Lewis was selected as the fourth president of NSU. • The William and Norma Horvitz Administration Building was dedicated. 1995 • Based on its fall 1995 enrollment, NSU became the largest independent university in the state of Florida. • The College of Allied Health started a Master of Public Health Program for students working in other health professions. • NSU acquired 10 acres of land contiguous with the southwest corner of the Fort Lauderdale/Davie Campus for future expansion. Initially, the site will be used for a nature trail in a park-like setting. 1996 • The Maxwell Maltz building, housing the Center for Psychological Studies and its Community Mental Health Center, was dedicated. • Planning began to move the Fischler Center for the Advancement of Education to university facilities in North Miami Beach. • The board of trustees approved addition of the College of Dental Medicine to HPD. • The NSU University School was selected as a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence by the U.S. Department of Education. • The Oceanographic Center began a cooperative project with the town of Davie to convert a water treatment facility into an aquaculture research farm. • The Shepard Broad Law Center began a part-time evening division J.D. program. 1997 • The Health Professions Division (HPD) moved from facilities in North Miami Beach to new facilities on the Fort Lauderdale/Davie Campus. The new complex encompasses 365,000 square feet of classroom, laboratory, clinic, and office space along with a 470,000-square-foot parking structure. • The College of Osteopathic Medicine won the 1997 American Medical Student Association’s Paul R. Wright Excellence in Medical Education Award, the first osteopathic medical school in the U.S. to be selected.