Policy for Florida In-State Tuition
To be considered for Florida In-state tuition, applicants to the Colleges of Dental Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Pharmacy, Optometry and Nursing must submit a completed Residency Application for Florida In-State Tuition and Affidavit along with supporting documentation.
It is the policy of the Health Professions Division (HPD) of Nova Southeastern University to encourage Florida residents to attend the Division’s various programs, in the hope that Florida residents graduating from Nova Southeastern University (NSU) will practice their respective professions in Florida and thus benefit the residents of the state of Florida. Accordingly, NSU has established a reduced tuition rate to be charged to these students who, pursuant to the terms and conditions contained herein, can demonstrate with credible evidence that they are legal residents of the state of Florida for tuition purposes.
In order for a student to be considered for in-state tuition, the student must be qualified as aresident for tuition purposes according to Florida State Statute 1109.21. Being a legal resident, a person who has maintained residence in the state of Florida, has purchased a home, or has established a domicile in the state, by itself does not establish residency for tuition purposes. The primary intent of having established residency in Florida must not have been for the purpose of obtaining an education in Florida. Residency for tuition purposes is exclusively determined by the HPD based on submission of a completed Application and Affidavit for Florida In-State Tuition along with supporting documentation in accordance with Florida Statutes.
The following U.S. citizens or eligible noncitizens will be considered for in-state tuition:
- An independent student who is self-supporting for 12 consecutive months prior to matriculation and has the intent, for purposes other than education, that Florida be his/her legal state of residence.
- A student who is a dependent child of a legal Florida resident, the latter having maintained legal residency in Florida for a minimum of 12 consecutive months immediately prior to the student’s matriculation. A dependent child is a person who has been claimed by his or her parent or guardian as a dependent under the “Federal Income Tax Code."
- A student who is married to a Florida Resident, the latter having been a resident of Florida for a minimum of 12 months immediately prior to the student’s matriculation. Evidence of the spouse’s legal residence in Florida for at least 12 consecutive months prior to matriculation is mandatory.
- A student who has purchased and resided in a home, in the state of Florida, for reasons other than attending school for at least 12 consecutive months prior to the student’s matriculation.
The burden of providing clear and convincing documentation that justifies the university’s classification of a student as a resident rests with the applicant. For documentation to be “clear and convincing”, it must be credible, trustworthy, and sufficient to persuade the university that the applicant has established legal residency in Florida that is not solely for the purpose of pursuing an education and has relinquished legal residency in any other state. All documentation must be submitted within 45 days of matriculation in order to determine residency. Students who fail to submit the Residency Application for Florida In-State Tuition and Residency Affidavit with sufficient documentation to prove residency within 45 days of matriculation will be considered out-of-state for tuition purposes for their entire enrollment at NSU.
Each student shall submit the documentation listed below:
With the exception of notarized forms, submit copies, not originals. Submitted originals will not be returned.
Mandatory documents for all students:
- Completed Residency Application for Florida In-State Tuition and Affidavit. Be sure to submit the original signed and notarized sworn affidavit.
- Copy of all transcripts from all Florida colleges and universities indicating admittance as a Florida resident for tuition purposes. You must also provide evidence that there was no break in your residency status from the time you left the Florida school system to your enrollment at NSU.
- Immigration card (if applicable)
Additional documents required for students requesting in-state tuition based on their own residency (documentation must be in student’s name):
- Copy of current Florida driver’s license – front only. Must have been obtained at least 12 months prior to the first day of class
- Copy of Voter’s Registration Card. Must have been obtained at least 12 months prior to first day of class. If you are registered to vote but do not have your Voter’s Registration Card, please go to http://dos.dos.state.fl.us/elections/for-voters/check-your-voter-status-and-polling-place/, click on “check your voter status” and send the printout.
- Lease and/or rent receipts covering a minimum of 12 months residence prior to the first day of class. If you are residing with a parent/relative, submit an original notarized letter signed by the parent/relative that indicates your name, address, and how long you have resided there. Be sure the letter is dated at the top.
- Federal income tax returns for the previous two years or W2s, if applicable. Please blackout your social security number and monetary portions of the tax return. We only need the first two pages of the actual 1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ.
- Most recent paystub, if applicable.
Additional documents required for students requesting in-state tuition based on the residency of their parent/guardian/spouse (documents must be in the name of the parent/guardian/ spouse):
IMPORTANT: If your request is based on your parent’s residency, your parent(s) must have claimed you as a dependent on his or her federal income tax return for the previous two years.
- Copy of current Florida driver’s license for both the student and the parent/guardian/spouse – front only. Must have been obtained at least 12 months prior to the first day of class.
- Copy of Voter’s Registration Card for both the student and the parent/guardian/spouse. Must have been obtained at least 12 months prior to first day of class. If either person does not have a Voter’s Registration Card but is registered to vote, submit a copy of the voter status to be obtained from http://dos.dos.state.fl.us/elections/for-voters/check-your-voter-status-and-polling-place/.
- Copy of warranty deed and current homestead exemption. If renting, copy of lease/rent receipts. All documents must cover a minimum of 12 months residence prior to the first day of class.
- Federal income tax returns: for the past three years for applications based on the spouse’s residency; for the past two years for applications based on the student’s parent(s) or legal guardian. Please blackout your social security number and monetary portions of the tax return. We only need the first two pages of the actual 1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ.
Although the decision of eligibility for in-state tuition will be made exclusively by NSU, the State of Florida may occasionally require additional information or documentation to verify a student’s status. Continuation of the student’s in-state tuition at HPD-NSU is dependent upon the student’s cooperation in supplying the requested documents in a timely manner.
Instructions and General Information
- A completed Residency Application for Florida In-State Tuition and Affidavit along with supporting documentation must be received within 45 days from the date of matriculation. Send all materials to:
Nova Southeastern University Health Professions Division
HPD Office of Admissions
Attn: Florida Residency Specialist
3200 S. University Drive
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33328-2018
Do not fax these documents to our office.
Students may contact the Admissions Residency Specialist for questions via phone at (954) 262-1126 or via email at HPDfloridaresidency@nova.edu.
- Upon receipt of the application, all documentation will be reviewed, and the student will be advised of the decision. If additional information is needed to make a determination, the student will be contacted in writing. The student is expected to supply any missing information within two weeks, or to show good cause why additional time is needed.
- If a decision is not made prior to matriculation, the student will be enrolled as an out-of-state student for tuition purposes until such time a decision is made, unless mutually satisfactory arrangements are made to the contrary.
- Any student granted status as a Florida resident for tuition purposes based on false, incorrect, or misleading information or failure on the student’s part to include pertinent information, whether written or oral, shall owe to the university any reduction in tuition granted such student, plus interest, and attorney’s fees incurred by the university in the collection of such sums.
- In the event of an adverse decision, the student may request that the Vice President for Enrollment and Student Services review the student’s Residency Application for Florida In-State Tuition and Affidavit and the decision. The student shall have seven school days, after receipt of the decision in writing, to request this review. Failure to make a timely request will waive any further right of the student for a review. The Vice President for Enrollment and Student Services may either affirm or reverse the decision. The student will be notified in writing of the final decision.
- Residency decisions made at the time of matriculation will remain the same during the entire time a student is enrolled in the Health Professions Division of Nova Southeastern University regardless of any change in conditions.
Download the Residency Application for Florida In-State Tuition.