President's Excellence in Community Service Awards

The President's Award for Distinguished Service in Community Engagement recognizes superior professional engagement activities in the community. The award encourages the ongoing pursuit of community service and exemplifies NSU's "community" core value. Through this award, Nova Southeastern University proclaims its pride in the accomplishments and personal dedication of its employees' activities in the community. These two awards are conferred upon one staff member and one administrator who each demonstrate significant contributions to the community, while exemplifying all eight of NSU's core values, and who serve as a role model for ongoing community engagement for NSU students.

Each awardee will be provided:

- Faculty Club Membership for one year
- An honorarium of a \$500
- Personalized Commemorative Plaque
- Recognition at the University level and at Team 2020 Celebration

Staff Member (Technical/Associate, as defined by NSU's OHR): A nominee must be a full-time staff member at NSU.

Administrator/Professional/Supervisor, as defined by NSU's OHR: A nominee must be a full time administrator, professional, supervisor or an administrative faculty with more than 51% time devoted to administrative duties.

Nominations may be made by colleagues, by any NSU constituent and may include self-nominations. The application packet must minimally include:

A one-page narrative summary providing compelling evidence of the nominee's excellence in community engagement/service. The summary must indicate if the nominee will be making application to the "staff" or the "administrator" award.

Evidence of excellence in community engagement demonstrated in narrative or portfolio format. A maximum of 4 pieces of evidence will be accepted. Examples include but are not limited to: report, newspaper clipping, certificate of appreciation, program evaluation, funding notification, photos, etc.

A maximum of two support letters from an NSU community affiliate and/or peer NSU employees, the nominee's supervisor or unit leader, and/or from students attesting to the nominee's community activities

An up-to-date resume or curriculum vita

A university-wide committee appointed by the President will recommend the awardee to the President. The final decision will be made by Nova Southeastern University's President.

Committee Members:

Staff Award:	Administrator Award:
Stephanie Petrosky (COM)	Jennifer O'Flannery Anderson (Advancement)
Sharon Sullivan (Advancement)	Kim Durham (HASS)
Angela Yehl (HASS)	Wren Newman (Healthcare Sciences)
Nicholas Pascucci (ICE)	Barbara Packer-Muti (ICE)

The application must be submitted to the Office of Institutional and Community Engagement (packerb@nova.edu) or Dr. Packer-Muti, Nova Southeastern University 3301 College Avenue Fort Lauderdale, FL 33314 on or before September 4, 2015. The term of these awards are for one year.