Giving to NSU

With your support, we can pursue new opportunities to focus our resources on issues facing our world.

NSU License Plate

License Plate

Learn about the Upgrade Program


GEICO NSU Alumni Discount

award winners

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Nova Southeastern University saluted 14 outstanding graduates at the Distinguished Alumni Achievement Awards ceremony, the highest and most prestigious honor that NSU bestows upon its graduates. The program recognizes alumni who have realized their potential around the world by demonstrating a record of distinguished service and extraordinary achievement in a particular profession, discipline, organization or community cause.

“There are many ways to determine the value of a university,” said Dr. George Hanbury, President and CEO of NSU. “I believe that one of the most important ways is by what our graduates bring to the communities across the country and around the world after graduation. These honorees make NSU proud!”

These awards pay tribute to alumni who have made outstanding contributions to their professions and/or community, have great pride for their alma mater, and are committed to advancing NSU’s values and goals.

2016 Distinguished Alumni Award Nominations are now open! Click here to submit your nominations.

The event was held at NSU’s Grande Oaks Golf Club in Davie. To view photos from last year's event click here.

2015 Distinguished Alumni Award Winners

Abraham S. Fischler College of Education Susan Russell, M.S. ‘84
College of Dental Medicine Timothy Case, D.M.D. ‘01
College of Engineering and Computing Dawn Beyer, Ph.D. ‘14
College of Health Care Sciences William Kohlhepp, D.H.Sc. ‘07
College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Sherika Hornes, M.S. ‘14
College of Nursing Jorge Montequin, B.S.N. ‘12
College of Optometry Andrew Morgenstern, O.D. ‘99
College of Osteopathic Medicine Mayrene Hernandez, D.O. ‘01
College of Pharmacy Christopher Lynch, Pharm.D. ‘97
College of Psychology Wendy Lader, Ph.D. ‘84
H. Wayne Huizenga College of Business & Entrepreneurship Lynne Wines, B.S. ‘87
Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanography Maria Behnam-Terneus, B.S. ‘05, D.O. ‘09
Shepard Broad College of Law Michael Fischler, J.D. ‘78, M.B.A. ‘78
NSU University School Maya Ezratti ‘94

Past Distinguished Alumni Award Winners

Abraham S. Fischler
School of Education
Ruth Jacoby
Polly Bowles-Howell 
Margaret A. Dixon
Georgina Kranitz
Camille Casteel
Henry L. Brown III
W. Roy Grizzard, Jr.
Brenda Snipes
Robert C. Anderson
Kay Mikulas
Tamara and
DaJuane Lateef Anderson
Tony Zeiss
Drew Richardson
Kenneth Whitmore
Cathy Areu

Colleges of Health Care
Sciences and of Nursing
Lisa Kenyon
Fabien Pampaloni
Helen Ewing
Annie Forgione 
Bernard Loeffke
Carmen Fox
Robinette Amaker
Maryellen Antonetti
James Hancock
Sherrilene Classen
Thomas S. Zeller
Frederick Rahe
Wendy Stav
Matt Dane Baker
Elizabeth DeGrace
George Fulk
Teresa Murphy- Price

College of Pharmacy
Richard Ashworth
Osmel Delgado
Betty Jean Harris
Elena M. Avello
Joy Marcus
Thomas Anthony Bohan
Richard Finkel
John Michael O’Brien
Geneen Robyn Graber
Patrick Hawthorne
Nilda Banchs-Sandoval
Michael Kaplan
Cristina Medina
Deborah Brown
Venessa Price

Graduate School of Humanities
and Social Sciences
Tony Gaskew
Michele Liscio
Stephen P. Madigan
Candy Fish
Diane Wilson-Dwyer
Arlene Gordon
Kathleen Harmon
Fanya Jabouin-Monnay
Marilyn Anita Vestal
Laurie L. Charles
Gregory Vecchi
Tyon Hall
Noel Linke Miner
Jodi Prohofsky
Cherise James

Shepard Broad Law Center
Renee Goldenberg
Robert W. Kelley  
Melanie G. May
Bernie Moyle
Paul Finizio
Sandy Karlan
Ilene Lieberman
Douglas M. McIntosh
David W. Singer
Brian A. Kahan
Catalina Avalos
Maria Jose Fletcher
Theresa Van Vliet
David Barclay
Yale Galanter

Museum of Art |
Fort Lauderdale
Gaby Esteves
Ben Morey
Grace Strattan
Kristopher Keime

Center for
Psychological Studies
Michael Bourke
Mark Blais
Efrain Antonio Gonzalez
Nancy Watson Baysher
Maureen Kenny
Amy Trachter
Alan L. Peterson
Janet S. St. Lawrence
Lee Baer
Charles M. Morin
David Ahern
Joan M. Cook
Monty Baker
Ben Toll

College of Optometry
David Eldred
D. Duane Mohon 
Mary Bartuccio
Barry Frauens
John M. Spalding
Charles W. Kinnaird
Annette Bade
Mark Marciano
Mary Charbonneau
Andrew Gregory
Kenneth Boyle
Briana Shelton

Farquhar College of
Arts and Sciences
Sandra Brown
Robert Armstrong
Robert Brzezinski
Anthony Dominici
Joseph Balchunas
Sheila Alu
Lorne S. Stitsky
Bud Leveron
Edwin G. Torres
Carrie Giordano
Somy Ali
Roy Jacob Smith IV
Sunil Patel
Chad Bobik

Oceanographic Center
Joanna Walczak
T. Patrick Quinn
Donald McCorquodale, Jr.
Glenda Kelley
Robert Brock
Roland A. deSzoeke
Georges L. Weatherly
David Z. McMahon
Clarice M. Yentsch
Roseline H. Marston
Dawn-Marie Boyer
Nikolas Camejo
Alex Brylske
Erik Neugaard
Clay Beauregard

H. Wayne Huizenga School of
Business and Entrepreneurship
Thomas Cairns
Gale Allen 
David Long
Roberta Carroll
Donald F. Kuratko
David Blyer
William Lowe
Marvin P. Carroll
William Spears
Donna Horkey
John DiBenedetto
Stephen McGill
Bonnie Hathcock
Alejandro Palacios
Brenda Yester
Audrey Marks

Institute for the Study of
Human Service, Health
and Justice
Gary Killam
Jessica Castellanos
Tina Jaeckle
Dennis Plaska

College of Dental Medicine
Sasidhar Nallapati
Karen McKenzie
Francis Short
Joel B. Slingbaum
Judith L. Gartner
Eyad Shehadeh
Robert Goldberg
Reza Ardalan
Jeffrey Albert
Elizabeth Feldman
Anil Idiculla
Michael Roseff

College of
Osteopathic Medicine
Michael Gervasi
James M. Turner  
Archie H. McLean
James Turner
Daniel McBath
Joel Rush
Jeffrey S. Grove
Gregory James
Glenn K. Moran
Ross D. Zafonte
Majdi Aschi
Tyler Cymet
John Geake
Jacqueline Kraveka
Ronald Renuart

Graduate School of Computer
and Information Sciences
James Burrell
David S. Metcalf II
Steven D. Zink
Ken MacLeod
Peter AC Long
Gioconda Weiner
Donald R. Lemmo
Amos Holt
James Frederick Ransome
Dedric Carter
Carol Woody
Frederick Moxley
Jeffrey Groom
Robert Urwiler
Daniel Hatton

Mailman Segal Center for
Human Development
Marlene Sotelo
Michael Marino
Mickey Segal
Adam Finkelstein
Penny Bernath
Madeleine Arritola
Carly Crispino
Pamela James
Jonathan Kabot
Jayden Carr
Bryce Lucas
Casey Stewart

University School
Yisroel Schulman
Tara Levine
Russel S. Adler
Andrew Tabatchnick
Tina Tahmassebi
Tobi Cohen Kosanke
Alexander P. Heckler
Matthew Pearl
Cassandra Frank Josephson
Mandel Ilagan
Captain Jesus Raimundi
Seth Gabel and Josh Gad
Nicole Prouty
Michael Zager
Keith Poliakoff

Stay Connected with Alumni