Alumni Class Notes

December 2011

Steve Ames, Ed.D. ’77, who taught college journalism and served as the faculty adviser to student publications for 38 years, has received a College Media Advisers Lifetime Membership for his service to student media.

Lisa Caltabiano, D.O. ’08, recently received first place for her research poster and presentation, Epidemiology of the Pandemic Influenza A/H1N1 2009 Northeast Ohio at the American College of Osteopathic Internists Annual Convention and Scientific Session which took place Oct. 12 through 16 in San Antonio.

Hilary Creary, B.S. ‘93, is the newly appointed Director for the 17th Judicial Circuit Guardian ad Litem Program. Her term starts in 2012.

David Di Pietro, J.D. ’04, has been appointed byFlorida Governor Rick Scott to the North Broward Hospital District Board of Commissioners. He will serve through July 13, 2015. Di Pietro is the proprietor of David Di Pietro Law, P.A. Di Pietro previously was an associate attorney with Conrad Scherer, LLP, and he also served as an assistant state attorney for the Seventeenth Judicial Circuit from 2005 to 2008.

Lauren Fallick, J.D. ’06, has joined Leopold-Kuvin in Palm Beach Gardens as an associate. She was an associate with Greenspoon Marder in Fort Lauderdale.

Larry Flegle, D.B.A. ‘03, has become a certified member of the Florida Radio Hall of Fame.

Ramona Frischman, Ed.D. ’94, retired Project Manager for Miami-Dade County Public Schools, has been recognized by Cambridge Who's Who for showing dedication, leadership and excellence in educational program development. She was honored as a Professional of the Year for 2010-2011, and will be featured in the forthcoming issue of Cambridge Publishing's Pro-Files Magazine.

Joshua Goldknopf, D.M.D. ’08, announced that he has joined in practice with the dental team at St. Johns Family Dentistry. This arrangement allows for St. Augustine residents to have their dental and orthodontic needs met in the same office.

Robert Gruber, D.O. ’86, director of spinal diagnostics and therapeutics for Laser Spine Institute's Tampa facility, has been named a finalist for Tampa Bay Business Journal's 2011 Health Care Hero Awards as chosen by an independent panel of judges. The annual program, now in its eighth year, honors practitioners, professionals and volunteers in eight categories and represents a wide range of disciplines, institutions and locales across the seven-county Tampa Bay area.

Omar Llaguna, M.S. ’98, has recently joined Baptist Health Medical Group. He specializes in general surgery and surgical oncology.

Lynn Plunkett, Ed.D. ’00, was recently appointed by House Speaker David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge) to the state Charter Advisory Committee.  The Charter Advisory Committee makes recommendations for approval or denial of charter system petitions and advises the State Board of Education on charter policy.

Steven Presley, J.D. ‘11, has joined his father, Michael Presley, (J.D. ’80), at Presley Law and Associates P.A. The Law Firm represents Physicians and provides trust management services.

Deborah Simpkins, D.M.D. ’02, received the association’s 2011 prestigious Fellowship award during the AGD 2011 Annual Meeting & Exhibits, held July 28 to 31 in San Diego, Calif. The Fellowship award is presented to dentists who seek to provide the highest quality of dental care by remaining current in their profession.

Marlon Villalobos, B.S. ’04 & M.P.A. ’06, has been selected to the Management Team of the Office of Afghanistan and Pakistan Affairs OAPA, for the United States Agency for International Development. Villalobos, who previously worked for the Broward County Office of Human Resources manages recruitment, staffing, and classification of Civil Service Personnel, Foreign Service Personnel, Administration, and overall management of Human Resources for the Office considered the highest priority for US AID.

Kevin West, Ed.D. ’03, has been named Roselle’s new superintendent of schools.West was a teacher and elementary school principal in Irvington, where he was named the 2003 New Jersey Principal of the Year by the state Department of Education. He was also a high school principal and assistant superintendent in the Newark Public Schools before coming to Roselle, where he was an assistant superintendent for before being named superintendent.