Top of PageSkip to main content

Board of Trustees

PICTURED LEFT TO RIGHT (FRONT ROW): Nell Lewis McGuire, Martin R. Press, Mike Jackson, Ronald G. Assaf, George L. Hanbury II, Barry J. Silverman, Carol Harrison Kalagher, Zachariah P. Zachariah, Silvia M. Flores (deceased), Barbara Trebbi Landry.  (SECOND ROW): Susanne Hurowitz; Samuel F. Morrison;  Melanie G. May; George I. Platt; R. Douglas Donn; Charles L. Palmer; Michael J. Zager; J. Kenneth Tate; Steven J. Halmos; Milton L. Jones, Jr.; Joel B. Ronkin.  (THIRD ROW): Anthony N. Ottaviani; Rick Case; Albert J. Miniaci; Arthur J. Falcone; Walter Lee Banks, Sr.; Alan B. Levan; Mitchell W. Berger; Tony Segreto. (NOT PICTURED): Paul M. Sallarulo, H. Wayne Huizenga.

Name Position
Ronald G. Assaf Chair; Retired Founder and Chairman, Sensormatic Electronics Corp., Fort Lauderdale, FL
Barry J. Silverman, M.D. Vice Chair; Orthopedic Surgeon, Aventura, FL
Samuel F. Morrison Secretary, Former Director, Broward County Library System, Fort Lauderdale, FL
George L. Hanbury II, Ph.D. President & CEO, Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Walter L. Banks, Sr. President, Lago Mar Resort and Club, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mitchell W. Berger, J.D. Founder & Co-Chair, Berger Singerman Law Firm, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Rick Case President & CEO, Rick Case Automotive Group, Fort Lauderdale, FL
R. Douglas Donn Chairman, Community Bank of Broward, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
Arthur J. Falcone CEO & Co-Chairman, Falcone Group, Boca Raton, FL
Steven J. Halmos President, Halmos Holdings, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Carol Harrison Kalagher President, Harrison Industries, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Susanne Hurowitz President, The Newport Group
Mike Jackson Chairman & CEO, AutoNation, Inc., Fort Lauderdale, FL
Milton L. Jones, Jr. CEO, Regal Trace, Ltd., Dania, FL
Alan B. Levan Chairman & CEO, BBX Capital, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Nell Lewis McGuire, Ed.D. Rumbaugh-Goodwin Institute, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Albert J. Miniaci President & CEO, Paramount Refreshment Solutions, Pompano Beach, FL
Anthony N. Ottaviani, D.O., M.P.H., MACOI, FCCP Chief Academic Officer, Largo Medical Center Graduate Medical Education
Charles L. Palmer President & CEO, North American Company LLC, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Martin R. Press, J.D. Shareholder & Member, Gunster, Yoakley & Stewart, P.A., Fort Lauderdale, FL
Paul M. Sallarulo President, NSU Alumni Association; President, Nexera Medical, Fort Lauderdale, FL
J. Kenneth Tate Chief Executive Officer, TKO Apparel, Inc., Hollywood, FL
Barbara Trebbi Landry General Partner, Mercator Asset Management LP, Boca Raton, FL
Zachariah P. Zachariah, M.D. Cardiologist, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Michael Zager Partner, Z Wealth Solutions, Weston, FL

Trustee Emeritus

H. Wayne Huizenga
Owner, Huizenga Holdings, Inc.

Ex Officio (non-voting members who serve by virtue of the position they hold and for so long as they hold such position)
Name Position
Honorable Melanie G. May Chair, NSU Shepard Broad College Board of Governors
Judge, Florida Fourth District Court of Appeal, Fort Lauderdale, FL
George I. Platt, J.D. Chair, Farquhar Honors College Advisory Board
Managing Partner, LSN Partners, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Joel Ronkin Chair, NSU University School Advisory Board
Chief Executive Officer, Fekkai Brands and Luxe Brands, Plantation, FL
Tony Segreto Chair, NSU Athletics Advisory Board
Consultant, Ambassador, Speaker, Davie, FL
Name Position
Ray Ferrero, Jr., J.D. President & CEO
Ovid Lewis, S.J.D. President
Stephen Feldman, Ph.D. President
Abraham S. Fischler, Ed.D. President Emeritus
Alexander Schure, Ph.D. Chancellor & CEO
Warren Winstead, Ed.D. President

Board Chairs

James Farquhar
James Farquhar
Melvin R. Cy Young
Melvin R. "Cy" Young
Mary R. McCahill
Mary R. McCahill
Ray Ferrero, Jr.
Ray Ferrero, Jr.
Robert A. Steele
Robert A. Steele
Ronald G. Assaf
Ronald G. Assaf

Return to top of page